NITROUS OXIDE ( nos / n2o ) advice forum

Nitrous Oxide ( NOS / N20 ) Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 3:06 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: How much is to much
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:25 pm 

Hi all,
This is my first forum encounter so if I muck this up don't be surprised.
I have seen some good information sharing which is great to see and I hope someone could shed some light for me.
I am new to using NOS and unfortunately I bought one of those US kits (you live and learn) but as I will soon be upgrading my project I will start converting across to WON gear.
I have an issue with not knowing how much gas I can throw at my engine , the more so called experts you talk to the more the answers vary.
I did the Aussie approach and got the biggest nos kit and work it out from there.
The engine is a 430 cui SBC (400 stroker)
GM tall deck rocket block with raised cam, wider pan rails, thicker deck ect ect
Cola forged crank, Lunati Pro-Mod rods (good for 850hp @8500rpm )
JE custom nitrous pistons 10:1 comp (low comp street engine)
5 stage dry sump, 500hp NOS kit,
custom tunnel ram intake electronic fuel injection twin 1000 cfm throttle bodies
Racer pro cylinder heads.
engine made a lazy 560hp on a soft tune with mild roller cam.
The engine went great in my old Monaro but I have pulled it out to put it in a dragster (will add pics)
Put it back to carb 830 mighty demon and made a set of blower pipes for it and had a bastard of a time fitting the dry sump pump.
I have a controller for it and want to start with a 250 shot and if I can work my way up a bit if this is possible .
I have been told that rule of thumb is 50% of what you made naturally aspirated but I have also been told you can bump this up more using a controller in the higher revs?
Any help would be great
Thanks steve

Last edited by monarosteve on Mon May 04, 2015 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Advertisement

Wizards of NOS Sparkplugs
 Post subject: Re: How much is to much