NITROUS OXIDE ( nos / n2o ) advice forum

Nitrous Oxide ( NOS / N20 ) Forum
 
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Switches
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:07 pm
Posts: 18698
Location: Doncaster
A number of people have commented on the current rating of our switches, so I thought I'd get some FACTS and present them here for you all.

To complicate matters more it seems that it matters what the switch is used for.

Switches seem to be rated in Amps and AC Voltage (NOT DC) but what is not appreciated is that these 2 are interdependent, although only to a certain degree.

The lower the Voltage used the higher the current handling capability.

The following is a quote from an informed website;
"For example a switch rated at 125 VAC @ 10 Amps should be good for 15 Amps at 28 Volts"

I've not found anything to verify it yet but it should follow that at 12 Volts the current rating would be a bit higher, although I haven’t found a table or a formula to obtain an exact comparative figure at 12 Volts, as yet.

Now if that isn't vague enough, the particular application of the switch affects how much current it can handle, so there can never be a clear cut rating for any switch.

To make things even worse, there are continuous factors (good and bad) as well as transient factors (good and bad), which influence how suitable and how long a switch will last in a given application.

With all the above in mind I can categorically state that we've NEVER had one of our switches fail in ANY way, when used in the prescribed manner.

However, in the absence of any clear cut figures my advice is as follows;

If you are uncertain about the current load of your particular circuit and the suitability of the switch to control it, then the best solution is to add a relay for your peace of mind.

_________________
Regards

Trev (The WIZARD of NOS)

30 years of nitrous experience and counting!!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  

Advertisement

Wizards of NOS Conact US
 Post subject: Re: Switches
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:33 pm 
Offline
Learner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:27 pm
Posts: 51
Location: North Norfolk
Noswizard wrote:
If you are uncertain about the current load of your particular circuit and the suitability of the switch to control it, then the best solution is to add a relay for your peace of mind.


I always have run relays when adding ANY electrical circuit. Although with the rise in popularity of LED spotlights, they often don't need a relay.

_________________
ZZR600 with N2O
BMW R1200GS
Aprilia RS125 Harada rep

Understanding Yorkshire in Norfolk.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Switches
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:24 pm 
Offline
Learner

Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Cheshire
use an ammeter where you would position the switch. hey presto amp reading!

_________________
I ride too fast to worry about cholesterol
11.47 @ 129.17 14/09/13


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

  • Advertisement
Wizards of NOS Sparkplugs
Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits